top of page

NEW MEXICO

Parking Lot

MISSOURI
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOND

Missouri Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

Anchor 1

Getting a Missouri motor vehicle dealer bond is a key step to becoming a licensed car dealer in the state. The motor vehicle dealer bond serves as an extra guarantee that your dealership will follow all rules and regulations that govern motor vehicle dealers in the state of Missouri.

Just like all surety bonds, the Missouri motor vehicle dealer bond serves as protection for the general public, and not as insurance for your business. In case you don't follow the rules and your obligations under the bond, a claim can be made against you. If proven to be a legitimate claim, the penal sum of the bond is used to compensate the affected parties. The surety covers the costs of claims up front, which you’ll be required to reimburse in full. This means you should avoided having any claims, as they can cause serious harm to your business and finances.

Missouri Department of Revenue Header/logo.png

Missouri Motor Vehicle / Auto Dealer Bond Cost

While $50,000 might seem like a large amount to pay, in reality, you only need to pay a percentage of it to get bonded, which is called the bond annual premium. The surety company will look at several factors to determine your motor vehicle dealer bond cost, most importantly, your credit score. Factors such as years licensed and years of industry experience will also play a factor in your dealer bond cost.

  • If your credit score is above 650, you’ll likely have to pay between .75% and 2% of the bond amount.

  • For applicants with credit scores between 600 and 649, the rates range between 2.5% and 4%.

Missouri Motor Vehicle / Auto Dealer License and Renewal

Who is required to be licensed?

All new and used motor vehicle dealers. Including: Boat Dealer, Franchise Motor Vehicle Dealer, Manufacturer, New Powersport Dealer,

 Public Motor Vehicle Auction ,Recreational Motor Vehicle Dealer, Trailer Dealer, Used Powersport Dealer, Wholesale Motor Vehicle Auction,

 Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer.​

How do I become a licensed motor vehicle dealer in Missouri?

To obtain a Missouri Dealers License just follow these simple steps!

1.  Attend A Missouri Dealer Educational Seminar
2.  Complete Dealer Application
3.  Pass A Criminal Background Check
4.  Register Your Dealership Name With The Missouri Secretary of State
5.  You Must Have A Place Of Business
6.  You Must Have A Display Lot
7.  You Need A Business Sign
8.  Submit A Photograph Of Your Business
9.  Maintain Dealer Insurance On Your Vehicle Inventory
10. Provide A Dealer Surety Bond

11. Maintain Regular Business Hours
12. Have Your Business Location Certified By A Law Enforcement Officer

 

 

1. Attend A Missouri Dealer Educational Seminar

To obtain a MO Dealer License you will need to attend the state mandated Missouri Dealer Educational Seminar. You dealer license training class takes about 4 hours. There is no test in your dealer class, it is just an informal question and answer session but you are required by the Department of Revenue to set through the entire 4 hour dealer training class. You can do this as your first step of 12 steps, during your 12 steps, or after you have completed the 12 steps. If you decide to take the dealer class as your first step we will do our very best to guide you in the right direction so you may obtain your dealers license as soon as possible so you may open your new business as soon as soon as possible. When you complete your training course, you will receive your issued Dealer Educational Seminar Certificate of Completion that is necessary to obtain your Missouri Dealers License. You will need to include your Certificate of Completion when you submit your application.

2. Complete Dealer Application

You must complete a Missouri Dealer License Application form DOR-4682 from the Missouri Department of Revenue. 

3. Pass A Criminal Background Check

You must pass an online criminal background check before you obtain your Missouri Dealer License. If you are a Missouri resident, you can begin your background check by clicking here. The background check must be conducted online through the Missouri Highway Patrol. The background check will cost $13.00 for each person on the license and each person on the license must pass the background check. If you are a resident of a state other than Missouri, you will need to submit a current background check from your State Highway Patrol or State Bureau of Investigations. All background checks must be less than 30 days old at the time of application. Be sure to include a copy of your background check in your dealer application packet.

4. Register Your Dealership Name With The Missouri Secretary of State

You must register your business name with the Missouri Secretary of State. This must be done before your receive your Missouri Dealer's License.  You can register your business name with the Missouri Secretary of State by calling 573-751-3827 or visit www.sos.mo.gov


5. You Must Have A Place Of Business

You must have a place of business to be used for the sole purpose of selling motor vehicles. You must have an area that is used only for the purpose of the business. You can also locate your business in any commercially zoned area that allows an automotive business. Be sure to check your local zoning laws. You must keep all books, records, and licenses in this building at all times. If you are using a travel trailer or mobile home, you'll need to remove it's wheels and anchor it securely to the ground. Remember, you must check your local zoning ordinances to make sure an automotive business is allowed at the location you have chosen for your dealership.

6. You Must Have A Display Lot

You must have a display lot with room for multiple motor vehicles. This lot must be for the exclusive use of your business. Any vehicles located on your lot must be for sale and the lot must have an unobstructed view from the nearest public street. All of your vehicles held for resale must be located on this lot.

7. You Need A Business Sign

You will need a permanent business sign. This sign can be on the exterior of the business building or erected on the display area. The sign's letters must be at least 6 inches in height and must be clearly visible to the public. You must also post your hours of operation prominently.

8. Submit A Photograph Of Your Business

You must submit a current photograph of your business with your dealer application. The picture must include your business building, display lot, and sign. The picture must be at least 5 by 7 inches and no larger than 8 by 10 inches if your application is mailed. 

9. Maintain Dealer Insurance On Your Vehicle Inventory

You must maintain insurance on every vehicle you own. Get your quote for your dealer insurance quickly and easily Just click here for your Missouri Dealer Insurance Quote. You will be required to provide proof insurance before you obtain your dealers license. Click here for your dealer insurance quote

10. Provide A Dealer Surety Bond

You must provide either an original dealer surety bond in the amount of $50,000. You can easily apply for your Missouri Dealer Surety Bond by clicking here. The price for your surety bond will depend on your credit score. Higher credit scores equal lower surety bond prices. If you have a bad credit history, your bond pricing can be much higher. We can provide quick, easy dealer surety bond quotes for anyone with perfect credit, less than perfect credit, or even bad credit. Don't worry, if you operate your business with complete integrity, you will probably never have to use it. For your free Missouri Dealer Surety Bond quote, just click here.

11. Maintain Regular Business Hours

Your business must maintain regular working hours of at least 20 hours per week. If you are running the business from your home address, or another location, someone will need to be available during your hours of operation. You will need to have your business open a minimum of 4 days a week between the hours of 6:00AM-10:00PM Monday through Saturday. Missouri laws prohibit dealers from operating on Sundays. Motorcyle dealers may now open on Sundays, but if you also sell cars and trucks, you must still remain closed.

12. Have Your Business Location Certified By A Law Enforcement Officer

One of the final steps to obtaining your Missouri Dealer's License is your Application Certification. You will need to make an appointment with a law enforcement officer to inspect your business location to make it sure it meets all of the dealer's license requirements. Don't worry, the certification process is very quick and easy to pass as long as you follow every step listed above. If your dealership will be located in Boone, Buchanan, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Clay, Cole, Franklin, Greene, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Platte, St. Charles, or Taney counties, you can have your certification done by an authorized officer of a metropolitan police department. If your dealership will be located in St. Louis County or St. Louis City, you must have your lot inspected by an agent with the St. Louis County or City Auto Theft Division. If your dealership is located in a Missouri county not listed above, you will need to contact a member of the Missouri Highway Patrol to conduct your certification. Just call them and tell them you would like to schedule a time to have your business inspected in order to certify for a dealer's license. Your experience during the Application Certification will be quick, positive, informative, and painless.
 
That's it!  After you have followed every step above just mail your completed dealer application, business photograph, background check, your original surety bondproof of dealer garage insurance, a check or money order for all license fees made payable to Missouri Department of Revenue, and your Dealer Educational Seminar Certificate of Completion to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau
Dealer Licensing Section
Post Office Box 43
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0043

When you receive your license you will be able to enter any auto auction in the country, buy any vehicle without titling it, then sell it anywhere in the country for a profit!

Hassle Free Guarantee Dealer Bond
Hassle Free Guarantee Dealer Bond

Whether applying for your first auto dealer license in Missouri, or renewing an existing one, you have to submit a dealer application form, together with all necessary documents that prove you meet the requirements.

When you renew your license, you’ll have to renew your Missouri auto dealer bond as well. As your business finances and personal credit score can change, make sure you work on improving those stats, so that you can reduce your surety bond cost over the years.

Request a FREE Bond or Insurance Quote today!

 

Get in touch with us by choosing one of the options below:

COMPLETE AN ONLINE APPLICATION
COMPLETE THE "QUICK HELP" FORM 
One of our agents will contact you shortly
bottom of page